Menu Style


Syed Shamsul Haq

  • PDF

sayed_shamsul_haqSyed Shamsul Haq (born 1935), is one of the best Bangladeshi poets and writers. He was born in Kurigram.
Syed Shamsul Haque was born in the Mahakuma Kurigram (now district) in 1935. His father was Syed Siddique Hossain a homeopathic physician and mother Halima Khatun. His father came to Kurigram to pursue in the practice of medicine. Traditionally they were a peer (saint) family but Haque's father breaking the family tradition studied English and Medicine. Haque's grandfather was furious at this audacity of his son. Haque passed his childhood and youth in Kurigram. During his childhood he observed the harshness of Second World War. Haque married Anwara Syed Haque (also an author) and they have one daughter called Bidita Syed Haque, and one son called Ditiyo Syed Haque.
Syed Shamsul Haque is a short story writer, playwright, novelist and very famous poet. Psychological game is found in his stories. He is an urbanized writer. Middle class is his target for writing.
His literary works were included in the curriculum of school level, secondary, higher secondary and graduation level Bengali literature in Bangladesh.
Poetry Ekoda Ek Rajje [1961]; Boishekhe Rochito Ponktimala [1969]; Birotihin Utsob [1969]; Protidhonigon [1976]; Opor Purush [1978]; Kobita Samagra (Collected Poems) in 3 Volumes [2007]
Novels Ek Mahilar Chhobi (Portrait of a Woman, 1959); Anupam Din (Best Days, 1962); Simana Chhariye (Beyond the Bounds, 1964); Neel Dangshon (The Blue Sting, 1981); Smritimedh (Massacre of Memory, 1986); Mrigayay Kalakshep (Spending Time in Deer Hunting, 1986); Stabdhatar Anubad (Translation of Silence, 1987); Ek Juboker Chhayapath (The Milky Way of a Youth, 1987); Swapna Sankranta (Regarding Dreams, 1989); Brishti O Bidrohigon (Rain and the Rebels, 1996); Baro Diner Shishu (A Child of Twelve Days, 1989); Banabala Kichu Taka Dhar Niyechhilo (Banabala Borrowed Some Money, 1989); Trahi (Save Our Soul, 1989); Tumi Sei Tarbari (You are That Sword, 1986); Kayekti Manusher Sonali Jouban (Golden Youth of a Few Human Beings, 1989); Shreshtho Uponyas (Best Novels, 1990); Nirbasita (The Exiled Woman, 1990); Nishiddha Loban (Forbidden Incense, 1990); Khelaram Khele Ja (Keep It Up, Kilroy, 1991); Megh O Machine (Cloud and Machine, 1991); Iha Manush (This is a Human Being, 1991); Mahashunye Poran Master (Poran Master in the Space); Dwitiya Diner Kahini (Story of the Second Day); Balikar Candrojan (The Girl’s Lunar Vessel); Ayna Bibir Pala (The Ballad of Ayna Bibi); Kaldharma (Religion of the Time); Duratwa (Distance); Na Jeyo Na (No, Don’t Go); Onya Ek Alingan (A Different Embrace); Ek Mutho Janmabhumi (A Fistful of Motherland); Bukjhim Bhalobasa (Love that Makes the Chest Ache); Acena (Unknown); Alor Jonyo (For Light); Rajar Sundari (The Beautiful Girl of the King)
Stories Tash [1954]; Seet Bikel [1959]; Rokto Golap [1964]; Anondr Mrittu [1967];
Others Payer Awaj Paoa Jay [1978]; Srabon Raja [1969]; Nuruldiner Sara Jibon
Awards Bangla Academy Award (1966); Adamjee Literary Award (1969); Alakta Gold Medal (1982); Alaol Literary Award (1983); Kabitalap Award (1983); Literary Award of the Association of Women Writers; Ekushey Padak (1984); Jebunnessa-Mahbubullah Gold Medal (1985); Padabali Kabita Award (1987); Nasiruddin Gold Medal (1990); TENAS Medal (1990); Swadhinata Padak (2000)

Last Updated on Monday, 02 July 2012 01:14



Online User

We have 19 guests online